[Book Review] A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Rating: 3/5
Genre: New Adult, Fantasy, Romance
Goodreads

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

I’ve heard a lot of good things about A Court of Thorns and Roses. Mostly good things, so I definitely had high expectations. I love Sarah J. Maas’ first series Throne of Glass, so from that alone I knew I would at least give this book a chance.

I love fantasy books, I love magic and romance, however I’m not a big fan of faeries or books set in a faeries court. Why you ask? I’m not entirely sure. I remember as a kid I watched a movie about faeries and it was very confusing, it had changeling’s in it and it scared me. The faeries were all weird, crazy and bizarre and it just didn’t bode well with me. I still feel like that, I’m always cautious when I pick up a book about faeries or it’s set in the court of faeries. I often dismiss the book if it has any inkling of a faerie in it. Sarah J. Maas though, her writing has just gotten better and better with each book in her Throne of Glass series, so I definitely had to at least try this one.

To Start off With

To start off with, the beginning was intriguing, I didn’t know where the book was going. I disliked her sisters and father, I felt sorry for Feyre and what she had to go through. It made me want to see what would happen to her and if she would find her happiness. I really liked the beginning.

As it went a long

The more I read the more I started to feel like that maybe this book wasn’t going to have anything special about it. I know its a Beauty and the Beast retelling, and I do love a good retelling. However, I wanted this to be so much more. I wanted more than just a romance, I wanted more than Feyre trying to figure out her new life and what she was going to do with it. While all of  that was intriguing, I just felt like it was lacking a purpose. Feyre was lacking a purpose. At least those were my thoughts about 50% in.

Feyre killed one of the high fae, she broke the treaty between the fae and the humans and therefore had to abide by it’s rules. She could either die, or she could go back with the faerie that came to avenge his friend and spend the rest of her life in Prythian, the side of the world the faeries lived in, but at least she would be alive. I wanted needed a better reason for Feyre to be living in Prythian. The stakes just needed to be higher, or had to be on someone else’s life not just her own.

The fae were meant to be horrible and terrifying, except Feyre managed to meet the one fae that wasn’t horrible or terrifying. I really wanted to dislike Tamlin more, he just seemed way too perfect. Too handsome, too kind, too soft. I found myself wishing there was a better reason for Feyre to hate him, the only reason she hated him was because he was a faerie and all humans were meant to hate all faeries. I wanted Tamlin to have done something really bad, for Feyre to not understand him so quickly. Tamlin was just too nice in my opinion.

The only ‘disfigurement’ that Tamlin had, was that he and his court were all permanently stuck in masquerade masks due to a sickness in the magic in the faerie realms. So instead of the people of the court being turned into kitchen ware, like the Disney version, they were all stuck in a mask for the rest of their lives. Or until the curse could be broken. Tamlin was also rather handsome, he could transform into a bear/beast because that was what his magic could do, but I felt like he was far from any beast. He wasn’t ugly like a beast and he wasn’t awful or terrifying like a beast.

I wanted more than a romance

I knew this book was going to be heavy on the romance. I mean it is a Beauty and the Beast retelling. And it’s classified as a New Adult book, NOT a Young Adult book. So of course there were going to be steamy scenes. And boy were there steamy scenes. The attraction between Feyre and Tamlin was undeniable, however it was also cringe worthy at times at the beginning. Lucien, Tamlin’s Emissary used to hang around with Feyre all the time, but then he starts making himself scarce because knows exactly what is going on. This just annoyed me, because as a character I really liked Lucien, I wanted him to be in the story more. I didn’t want him to disappear every time Tamlin walked in because he knew there were fireworks going on between them etc.

A Court of Thorns and Roses still had a pretty amazing romance. Feyre learned to like Tamlin and fall for him, it had nothing to do with his outward appearance, and she got over the hiccup of him being a faerie.

Feyre wasn’t what I expected

Feyre was quite a badass, she fought to keep her family alive, she taught herself to hunt, she taught herself most things because her mother had died and wasn’t there to teach her these things. But I also found Feyre to be stubborn and seriously annoying. Whenever Tamlin or Lucien warned her of danger, she would go completely against what they warned her against and find herself getting hurt or attacked. I’m like, come on woman! She could be quite childish in that sense.

And then it all made sense

About just over half way through this book, all of the above points made sense. I’m not going to explain why because that would be spoiling it. I suddenly understood a lot of the directions that Maas had gone in with the characters and the story.

I devoured the end half of this book

By the time I got to 50% I thought I knew where this story was going, I had no idea how it would have a whole 50% left. And then as I read I found I couldn’t put it down, the story changed, I suddenly got my ‘more’ that I was craving, it was different to what my expectations were. The whole end half of this book was dramatic and exciting, I read it in a few hours and now I need to read the next book.

In the end

I really loved this book, the story was a just a really great retelling of Beauty and the Beast. The romance was steamy, the beginning of the story was your typical expectation of the original fairytale, the end half of the book is where the originality shone through. Although the beginning of this book felt like it dragged on a bit, all was revealed near the end. Which is what usually happens, but I just didn’t expect it and I love that.

In Summary:

A Court of Thorns and Roses was a good Beauty and the Beast retelling.
– In the beginning I wanted to like Feyre more but she was so stubborn and annoying at times.
– In the beginning I wanted to dislike Tamlin more because he still came across as too perfect, despite his flaws.
– Lucien was my favourite character, but I wanted more of him in the story.
– The end half of the book was amazing, it was where the action really happened and I devoured it in a matter of hours.
– This story was steamy, it was a love story hidden in a fantasy world.

-Jord
x

Leave a comment

