I live in London but that’s not where I’m from

The Writer Behind the Words with Jordon's Travels
[ Where I tell you all about myself. ]

I LIVE IN LONDON, UNITED KINGDOM.

London (2)But I’m from New Zealand and had lived in Auckland my whole life, until last year when I went travelling around Europe for three months.

I moved half way across the world because I was going to be on that side of the world anyway. So why not get my visa just in case I didn’t want to leave? It turns out I didn’t want to leave because there were so many more places I wanted to see, and the London lifestyle is so different to home. I needed to experience more.

London is busy. 24 hours, 7 days a week. Well, except for Christmastime; at Christmas, London is a ghost town. Which makes me wonder if anyone is even from London, or if Londoners are all from other parts of England or the world. Everyone goes home at Christmastime. And barely anyone is left in London.

At home in Auckland, life is a lot quieter. Maybe that was because I didn’t live in the city and to get to the city, it felt like a bit of a mission. The fact that I worked night shifts while I lived there was also another reason my life was quieter.

I had never moved house before.

The View from my house, top is foggy, bottom is usually...Before I moved to London, I had never moved house before. Yep, I had lived in the same house my whole life. Because I was trying to make a career in acting and I didn’t earn much when I worked night shifts at the cinema, I hadn’t moved out of home yet. So moving half way across the world was quite extreme to move out of home for the first time.

I used to be scared of big changes like that, now I embrace them. You can’t learn if you continue to do the same thing forever.

I moved into a cute two bedroom flat with my cousin in south-west London, Zone 3. Zone 3 isn’t so bad, we live down the road from the cutest area that has cafes, shops, op shops, pubs and grocery stores. Down the opposite way we live near the park. We live a 5 minute walk from the tube stop and a 10 minute walk from the train station. I love the flat, I love the area and I love how close the public transport is.

I love London.

I love how busy it is, I love that there is something going on all the time, I love how social everyone is no matter what day of the week it is. I love how easy it is to travel to Europe from London, I love how cheap it is to travel, I love how cheap the food is compared to home. There are just so many things I love about London.

I miss my cat.

My cat MidnightWhen I left home, I also left my cat behind with my family. When you move half way across the world and you can’t take your pet with you, you don’t realise how hard it will be. You can’t talk to them like you could a person, clearly. My brother constantly sends my pictures and videos of my cat so I get my cat fix and know that he’s okay.

I didn’t bring my cat with me because of obvious reasons of travelling and not knowing how long I will be living in London etc.

The Writer Behind the Words, Part 2: I live in London but that’s not where I’m from.

Part 1: My name is Jordon

Leave a comment

