[Book Review] Starglass by Phoebe North

Starglass by Phoebe North

Title: Starglass
Author: Phoebe North
Series: Starglass #1
Rating: 3/5
Genre: YA, Sci Fi Dystopia
Goodreads

Terra has never known anything but life aboard the Asherah, a city-within-a-spaceship that left Earth five hundred years ago in search of refuge.

At sixteen, working a job that doesn’t interest her, and living with a grieving father who only notices her when he’s yelling, Terra is sure that there has to be more to life than what she’s got.

But when she inadvertently witnesses the captain’s guard murdering an innocent man, Terra is suddenly thrust into the dark world beneath her ship’s idyllic surface. As she’s drawn into a secret rebellion determined to restore power to the people, Terra discovers that her choices may determine life or death for the people she cares most about. With mere months to go before landing on the long-promised planet, Terra has to make the decision of a lifetime–one that will determine the fate of her people.

As I read Starglass I kept wondering where the story was going. When I read the blurb I thought I knew the direction the story would take, but wow, was I wrong.

Starglass was a lot darker than I expected, the tone wasn’t so dark that I came out of this book hating everyone and my life. But I had expected it to be a normal YA with a romance, a bit of a love triangle and a feeling that Terra was going to save them all. That’s not what I got or what happened.

I enjoyed reading this book because it was more mature than I expected, there were no teenage drama moments which I have no patience for right now. However, I was a little surprised that the other characters weren’t more in-depth. We learnt about Terra but didn’t really get to know or even like other characters, like her best friend, her brother, or her intended. They were just other people she thought about or ran into sometimes. And because of those reasons I was more surprised that I still enjoyed this book as much as I did.

The ending of this book makes me want to pick up the next one straight away, I just want to know where this story is going. Near the end it got a bit weird and I didn’t see the twist coming at all, I do love a good unexpected twist, but to be honest, this one? It felt a little bit left field. I hadn’t quite connected the dots. It wasn’t so far out of place that it wasn’t believable though.

In Summary:

Starglass was a surprising read.
– It was darker than I expected, but still on the line of enjoyable for me.
– The other characters besides Terra weren’t very likeable or deep.
– I still enjoyed this book even though the twist was a little left field.

Who would I recommend this to?

Young Adult readers that are looking for an easy read that isn’t exactly light or a good-feeling book.

The space element might appeal to people who enjoyed Across the Universe by Beth Revis or Glow by Amy Ryan. Personally I wasn’t a fan of Glow, but I did love Across the Universe and I feel like Starglass falls in between these two.

Jord
x

4 thoughts on “[Book Review] Starglass by Phoebe North

  1. Chiara @ Books for a Delicate Eternity says:

    I hadn’t heard of this book before your review, but now I am a bit interested.

    I’m always surprised when a book doesn’t turn out anything like the blurb made me think I would, and I find that it’s either a good thing or a bad thing. In this one, it sounds like ti falls between the two. I’m a fan of darker stories, so I don’t think I would mind that aspect! But the fact that the secondary characters are underdeveloped and underutilised is a bit of a disappointment.

    I might check this one out if I’m looking for a sci-fi series to sink my teeth into!

    Thanks for the review ;D

    • Jordon says:

      Yeah, I really love it when you can feel the connection between the main character and the secondary characters. It makes the book more enjoyable and even more memorable.
      Haha I’m usually not a fan of dark stories so I stay clear of them, so I was glad this wan’t anywhere near as dark Llke Glow was.
      I’m glad I ended up liking this book! I really want to read more YA (Or even New Adult) sci fi, but more along the lines of Across the Universe: cryogenically frozen, travelling in space, a bit of romance, maybe aliens and action etc. I love sci fi that’s set in space though :D

Leave a comment

