Easy Homemade Breakfast Granola

IMG_3936When it comes to breakfast I usually don’t get up early enough to make something really nice. I mean who does when they need to work? I know I can never be bothered and would rather sleep that extra thirty minutes. So I often only have toast. Simple, easy and fast.

However, my cousin taught me how to make granola and I fell in love with it. So I’ve started making it often and found it’s super easy, healthy, and quick to eat in the mornings before work. Perfect right?

There are multiple recipes online and I’ve just started throwing in whatever seeds or nuts we have or I can find at the supermarket.

I followed Deliciously Ella’s recipe and Rachel Brathen’s recipe, then mixed them up. It’s super easy, you can follow any recipe online and put whatever you want in it. This is how I made mine:

Ingredients:IMG_4003

2 1/2 cups of Oats
1/2 cup of Slivered Almonds
1/2 cup of Walnuts
1/2 cup of Pumpkin Seeds
1/2 cup of Flaxseeds (aka Linseeds)
1/2 cup of Desiccated Coconut
3 Tbs of Chia Seeds

You can also add:
Sunflower seeds
Hazelnuts
Pecans
Apricots
Figs
Raisins
Whatever else you like

I then followed Deliciously Ella’s recipe for the sauce:

3 Tbs of Coconut Oil
3 Tbs of Maple Syrup
3 t of Cinnamon

Method:

Combined

Oats. nuts and seeds combined and mixed.

Preheat oven to 180 degree’s Celsius. (350 degree’s Fahrenheit).

Combine oats, nuts, seeds and coconut in a bowl. Mix together.

Melt the coconut oil, cinnamon and maple syrup in a pan on the stove top. Then stir it into your dry mixture. I mixed it together with my hands, make sure you’re careful with how hot the liquid is! You could use a wooden spoon if you prefer.

Next, place your granola evenly in a dish and put in the oven for around 30 – 40 minutes. Make sure to take it out every 10 – 15 minutes to stir the granola so the top layer doesn’t burn.

Ready to cook

I’ve mixed through the syrup and placed in a dish, ready to put in the oven.

I found my granola to brown really easily so I ended up taking it out every 10 minutes to stir and only cooked it for around 30 minutes.

Honestly though you can stop cooking the granola when you think it looks brown and crunchy enough!

Take it out of the oven and let it cool down.

Once it’s cooled, place the granola in a glass jar with a tight rubber seal to keep it fresh and crunchy.

You can store for months this way! However I bet you would finish this off within weeks if not a week.

Ready to eat.

With yogurt, heated up and ready to be eaten.


When I eat the granola, I usually put some maple syrup on top and heat it up in the microwave for thirty seconds or so, it depends how much I’m eating. Then I top it off with yogurt and sometimes banana or fresh berries, and eat it warm. You can eat it cold if you prefer.

It’s just so good and so healthy depending what you put in it and on top of it!

Check out Deliciously Ella’s blog for why Chia Seeds are so good for you. I bought my Chia seeds from a health food store, they weren’t exactly cheap but they were worth the price and they last a long time since you only add a tablespoon or so to each recipe.

Find out the benefits of pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, and Flaxseeds (Linseeds), and why you should be eating them.


I’ve made this a few times now, each time with different nuts and seeds and I’ve loved it every time. I’ve also made it by cooking the granola in a big pan on the stove top with coconut oil and maple syrup excluding the cinnamon. Stove top or oven, either way does the trick.

If you try this granola out, let me know what you think! I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

Jord
x

4 thoughts on “Easy Homemade Breakfast Granola

  1. Lee @ Rally the Readers says:

    I am horrible about making breakfast- if I can’t stick something in the toaster or microwave, I pretty much can’t be bothered because I’m so useless in the morning, lol.

    Thanks for stopping by the blog the other day, Jordon! I’ve missed chatting with you and hope that we get to do so more often! :D

    • Jordon says:

      Me too! Which is why if I don’t have this granola handy I usually just eat toast… I don’t even have time to enjoy my coffee until I get to work in the morning haha. I just love that it’s so healthy and so good to have first thing in the morning.

      Thanks! Same here, I’ve missed writing and blogging! Shall see you around more often :D

Leave a comment

