Currently Reading: A Mix of Genre’s

At the moment I just can’t seem to focus or concentrate on one book.

So I’m finding myself flipping between three books. Which actually can get a little confusing because I forget what’s just happened in any of the books I pick up and have to read a few pages back each time. Do you ever get in these moods?

In saying that, here are the three books that I’m currently reading at the moment:

Talon by Julie Kagawa

Talon by Julie Kagawa

Long ago, dragons were hunted to near extinction by the Order of St. George, a legendary society of dragon slayers. Hiding in human form and growing their numbers in secret, the dragons of Talon have become strong and cunning, and they’re positioned to take over the world with humans none the wiser.

Ember and Dante Hill are the only sister and brother known to dragonkind. Trained to infiltrate society, Ember wants to live the teen experience and enjoy a summer of freedom before taking her destined place in Talon. But destiny is a matter of perspective, and a rogue dragon will soon challenge everything Ember has been taught. As Ember struggles to accept her future, she and her brother are hunted by the Order of St. George.

Soldier Garret Xavier Sebastian has a mission to seek and destroy all dragons, and Talon’s newest recruits in particular. But he cannot kill unless he is certain he has found his prey: and nothing is certain about Ember Hill. Faced with Ember’s bravery, confidence and all-too-human desires, Garret begins to question everything that the Order has ingrained in him: and what he might be willing to give up to find the truth about dragons.

Don’t get me wrong, I love Julie Kagawa. She is definitely on my favourite authors list. I loved her ‘Blood of Eden‘ series, I loved the dark vibe it had, the vampires were actually interesting, with the grungy world and bad-ass main character.

But I am finding it very hard to really get into Talon.I remember reading Sophie Jordan’s book Firelight, which was also based on dragons. I was so unpredictably bored in that book that it’s seemed to have curbed my interest in anything-dragon. I’m so worried that Talon will be like Firelight in regards to: a young girl who is a dragon and trying to keep it a secret, falls for a human boy that is actually hunting dragons and has to stay away from him or her tribe/family will hurt said human boy. So plain and blah.

Julie Kagawa is anything BUT plain and blah though, so I know I really need to give this book a real go.

I think I just need to ease myself into it when I have the right mindset.

The Stolen Songbird by Danielle L. Jensen

The Stolen Songbird

For five centuries, a witch’s curse has bound the trolls to their city beneath the ruins of Forsaken Mountain. Time enough for their dark and nefarious magic to fade from human memory and into myth. But a prophesy has been spoken of a union with the power to set the trolls free, and when Cécile de Troyes is kidnapped and taken beneath the mountain, she learns there is far more to the myth of the trolls than she could have imagined.

Cécile has only one thing on her mind after she is brought to Trollus: escape. Only the trolls are clever, fast, and inhumanly strong. She will have to bide her time, wait for the perfect opportunity.

But something unexpected happens while she’s waiting – she begins to fall for the enigmatic troll prince to whom she has been bonded and married. She begins to make friends. And she begins to see that she may be the only hope for the half-bloods – part troll, part human creatures who are slaves to the full-blooded trolls. There is a rebellion brewing. And her prince, Tristan, the future king, is its secret leader.

As Cécile becomes involved in the intricate political games of Trollus, she becomes more than a farmer’s daughter. She becomes a princess, the hope of a people, and a witch with magic powerful enough to change Trollus forever.

The Stolen Songbird is a fairy tale retelling of Beauty and the Beast. I love Beauty and the Beast, and this retelling is a very different version as in the ‘beast’ is a troll; a very human looking troll. Actually it’s a very clever story I think. I’m enjoying it but I’m also finding that Cecile sounds a bit young and that makes her a little hard for me to connect to.

The romance is too childish for me, it isn’t often where I come across this but when I do it can ruin the whole book for me. The childish thinking, the always-blushing, the he-definitely-doesn’t-like-me attitude when really it’s plain obvious he’s in love with her. I keep coming across these small things and it makes me put the book down and move on to the next one for a while.

So I am enjoying The Stolen Songbird but I can’t seem to read it all in one sitting.

Starglass by Phoebe North

Starglass by Phoebe NorthTerra has never known anything but life aboard the Asherah, a city-within-a-spaceship that left Earth five hundred years ago in search of refuge.

At sixteen, working a job that doesn’t interest her, and living with a grieving father who only notices her when he’s yelling, Terra is sure that there has to be more to life than what she’s got.

But when she inadvertently witnesses the captain’s guard murdering an innocent man, Terra is suddenly thrust into the dark world beneath her ship’s idyllic surface. As she’s drawn into a secret rebellion determined to restore power to the people, Terra discovers that her choices may determine life or death for the people she cares most about. With mere months to go before landing on the long-promised planet, Terra has to make the decision of a lifetime–one that will determine the fate of her people.

Whenever I’m having trouble reading a book, I always pick up a science fiction book because I love science fiction books, they always intrigue me. Honestly, I think I was born a few hundred years too early, I’m meant to be living in an era where intergalactic space travel is possible and normal. How amazing and terrifying would that be?!

Starglass is proving to be interesting so far, I haven’t actually gotten too far into it yet but I am enjoying the beginning.

I pick Starglass up when I put The Stolen Songbird down. It helps break up any feelings of annoyance I get from that book.


Reading three different genre’s does help break up any monotony I may be feeling, but it also helps me to continue reading another book and not put it down for good, never to be picked up again. I keep coming back to all three books I’m reading which means I may actually finish them all at some point.

Granted I don’t usually read more than one book at a time, however at this time I just can’t seem to focus on a singular book and its story. So reading three books at once seems to be getting me somewhere.

Do you ever read more than one book at once? Or can you only ever read one book at once?

Jord
x

5 thoughts on “Currently Reading: A Mix of Genre’s

  1. Stephanie Buckwell says:

    Jordon, that’s awesome what you wrote. You have a way with words. I wish I had time to read one book these days, let alone tackle 3!! I will have to make time in my day or night to read more books and not be on fb so much :)

    • Jordon says:

      Thanks Steph! Yeah, I find I usually don’t often have time to read except on public transport or on a quiet Sunday. Yeah, same here. Facebook does carve out a lot of my time in the day! Cutting more of it out would probably make my day more productive haha.

  2. Dragana (@BookwormDreams) says:

    I used to read more than one book at once but I concluded I am very bad at that. I would just favorite the book I liked more and read only that book until I fiish it. And then I would start another… In the end I had a big pile of books I started. So now I either DNF or read until the end, one book at the time.
    The Stolen Songbird had it’s issues but I liked the general story, And the sequel is much better, Cecile really grew up in that one.

    • Jordon says:

      Yeah, I could actually see that happening to me if I did this too often. I do have a pile of books I’ve started but need to figure out if I will ever finish… It’s so hard! I always think I would really like to come back to a book at some stage, but then I never do…
      Ah yay, I’m glad to hear the sequel is better. I’m about 60% through it right now, so I should really just push my way to the end.

Leave a comment

