Venice, my old love.

When I first went to Venice I was 14, my family did a small Europe trip which at the time I never realised was so rare for families to get to go on. Venice was one of the places I enjoyed most, canals and masks everywhere, it was so different to anything I had ever seen. So getting to go back to Venice was incredibly exciting for me.

Alesha and I arrived in Venice fine, we were to meet Alicia and Aleisha later on since we had been staying in different places in Florence so we traveled at different times. We were staying at a camping ground in Venice which turned out to be awesome! We had booked an air conditioned three bed cabin which Alesha and I had somehow managed to get to ourselves (thank god). The grounds had it’s own grocery store, bar and restaurant and it had a swimming pool (!!). We were pretty stoked since it had been the cheapest option as well.

The first day we spent our time out in old Venice which is the part of Venice with all the canals. We caught the transfer and then found out instead of getting a ferry across we were able to get the ‘people mover’ which cost us €2 each. It was super cheap compared to what everyone else was paying for a water taxi. The people mover was pretty much a small train thing with three carriages, but it turned out most tourists didn’t know about it so it was empty!

We spent the morning wandering around getting lost in the canals. Which is the one thing you’re meant to do in Venice!

IMG_2431

How beautiful is that?!

IMG_2430 IMG_2421 IMG_2420 IMG_2419 IMG_2418

Canal after canal after picturesque canal.

IMG_2410 IMG_1801 IMG_2408 IMG_2409IMG_1775

We came across the Leonardo da Vinci interactive museum and decided to check it out, now for some people who know me they know that I, for some weird reason, find Leonardo da Vinci super interesting. So getting to go into this museum was pretty exciting, considering you actually got to play around with the recreated inventions.

IMG_2411IMG_2412 IMG_2413 IMG_2415 IMG_2416 IMG_2417

We got lost some more and found our way to Saint Marks Square.

IMG_2427 IMG_2429 IMG_2428 IMG_2426

And then onto the Rialto Bridge. Which was PACKED and over priced, of course.

IMG_2423 IMG_2422IMG_2424

And the Bridge of Sighs. Which, by the way, is so beautiful.

IMG_1783

I loved the masks and weird art places everywhere.

IMG_1755 IMG_1784 IMG_1795

We spent more time wandering around and came across a really cool puppet store! I started taking pictures and then realized there was a “Please do NOT take photos in this store.” sign right in front of me… In my defense I was too busy marveling at these amazing puppets. Although they were also creepy (Not a huge fan of puppets…). So we left straight away before the person in the store could reprimand me…

IMG_1798 IMG_1800

We had dinner in Venice in the sun as it was early still, it was really lovely and such a lovely evening to share with close friends.

We spent the last full day there relaxing and chilling out by the pool before heading off to Milan for one night before flying out to Prague (Which by the way was insanely quirky!!).

I loved Venice just for the history, the art, and the architecture.

Jord
xx

2 thoughts on “Venice, my old love.

    • Jordon says:

      Old Venice was great. It’s a lot cheaper to stay on the mainland then then get the ‘people mover’ train thing over to the island!

Leave a comment

